Diary Without Pages

Trivia I find Ignored

The Crossing

7 Comments

For two people who couldn’t have been more different and who’ve never met each other at a distance of less than 3 meters – we get along pretty well. As we pass by each other almost every day, me, worked up about one thing or the other. And him, clearly mourning rapid loss of hair – we learn to put aside our worries for a few fleeting moments and admire each other’s punctuality. On time, every time.

He needed a haircut that day – desperately. The first day. I waited for him to catch my eye. I knew my voice couldn’t reach him, and even if it did, he wouldn’t be able to make out what I said over the sounds of engines roaring and horns beeping. He looked over to me; expecting me to be there as I always am, six days a week.

“Haircut!”, I pretended to shout.

It took him a while to understand what I was doing. A little taken aback, “Sick yesterday!”, he mouthed back.

“Tomorrow then?”, quizzically, I asked.

His nod came right before he motioned me to pass. I obliged, followed by an incredulous biker, who wanted to know why I was muttering to myself with such enthusiasm. The thought of stopping the ambulance nearby must’ve occurred to him, there was mental written all over me. But he seemed like a man in a hurry and besides this was rush hour we’re talking about.

Sure enough, the next day the traffic guy looked a lot more presentable than yesterday. I gave him a thumbs-up and he returned with a smile. Followed by a chat on the weather , he, on the middle of the junction, me, at the very start of the lane.

I think we’ve both found the funny in this situation and that’s why we look forward to meeting each other every day at the main crossing that separates the east end from the west end of the city.

Our everyday meeting mainly consists of lip reading and little questions like, “Forgot your muffler today?” , “You heard? Pepsi is now 18Rs. Apiece! And I remember the days when it was 9.”,”It was 5 when I was a kid.”, indignantly, he’d reply.

The most fun part is looking at the bewildered expressions of people waiting patiently for the signal to open. Convinced they had uncovered the communication patterns of secret agents. Our little chit chat has successfully aroused the suspicion of 9 out of 10 people that pass by. Their curiosity. PRICELESS!

Author: Hamza

A college student of 18. With sarcasm as my voice and a proud disregard for rules, I'm looking to shake up the world a little - without sounding incredibly cheesy.

7 thoughts on “The Crossing

  1. Seriously, stuff like this are the little joys that make life worth living to me!

  2. How unusual a tale – really interesting. You’re weird! I mean that in a nice way. It’s just, what does this mean: “You heard? Pepsi is now 18Rs. Apiece! And I remember the days when it was 9.”,”It was 5 when I was a kid.”, What the?!

    Very entertaining – loved it 🙂 (especially mouthing ‘haircut’ and ‘sick yesterday’ etc – that was great)

    • Rs. is the currency and right now you have to pay 18 to get one bottle of pepsi. but when I was 7 or 8 year old, it was sold for Rs 9 . On that, the policeman told me that when he was a kid, he could get one for Rs 5,

      • Oh Hamza – that does make sense now!! Silly me 🙂 It just seemed really coded.

        I remember when I was 10/12, I did concerts in my back yard & charged neighbourhood kids 5c or 10c to which (which they did!). For you to realise how nothing that is, we now no longer use 5 cents in Australia. Time just MARCHES ON….

Reply. It won't hurt, I promise.

