Diary Without Pages

Trivia I find Ignored

Wake-up Call – Literally!

16 Comments

I don’t wake up everyday, I am waked up everyday. One person or the other is awake at 7 in the morning, and waking me up is one pro-bono that’s everybody’s favorite – It’s their way of getting even with me, poor people can’t handle a little sarcasm from time to time. So on any other day, the first thing I see when I wake up, is a demon’s face (there are plenty to go around), often with a sneer, holding a small bucket filled with water over my comfy, oh so comfy bed. I feel the comfort only when its just about to be snatched away. That’s part of why I am so psyched for the night to come. I try to feel the comfort – but its not there! Now why is that?

Yesterday, I woke up at 6. That’s my routine (this wake up is self-induced) – wake up at 6, sit up straight wondering why the girl in my dream had shoes in different colors, and why my iphone’s keypad sounds are higher than the ringtone. At 6:15, head on pillow. 6:20, half dead. 7:05 hell rising (The demons’ time to shine).

So yesterday, I woke up, 6. For a moment there, I thought it was like every other day. The monotony of it almost had me cursing – when it hit me, the demons had moved out for the day, and I was all alone. Celebrations were in order; or not.

I didn’t know if it was a dream come true or a nightmare. On one hand, I finally had had a break from the routine, my lifelong wish. On the other hand, I love my college; a day off? Not on my to-do list.

In the end, I settled with an alarm. The decision making took away 5 minutes of sleep. Teeth clenching at the misfortune, I fumbled with the device, shut my eyes with force – if that’s even possible.

Even under ideal conditions people have trouble locating their car keys in the pocket, finding their cell phone or remembering the pocket with the change in it – but I bet that everyone can find and push the snooze button from 3 feet away, in 1.7 seconds, eyes closed – first time, every time.

7:21The alarm went off. Hands moved instinctively. In that vague state of mind I marveled at the precision with which my hands moved. The last thought in my mind, before the eyes closed – I’d be the 21st century Robin hood one day…

9:30, eyes slowly opening…random images, flashbacks, feeling of sweat on the soles of my feet from a nightmare I had, thankfully forgotten. And then – realization!

The way I remember it, I flew out of the sheets, my feet landed not so gracefully on the carpet, tangled with myself, feeling stupid,

Fall Flat.

Yeah, something like that.

Thanking God, for the animal instincts, I pushed myself up. Sat up straight – or tried to. Its common, after incidents like these, regaining posture takes a while. When I was conscious enough to know if it was night or day, my eyes swept across the room, and rested on the time piece.

I gave up effort, thoughts of arriving late did cross my mind, but didn’t last long. I wanted to go to college, that much is settled. Just not that badly.

Savoring the thought of demons in despair at my leave, a smile crossed my face. A little content, and a little disheveled, I closed my eyes – again. This time, they didn’t open until the sound of screams and shouts and squeals and shrieks.

The anger in store for me. I closed them again – this time, like a pigeon in front of a cat.

Author: Hamza

A college student of 18. With sarcasm as my voice and a proud disregard for rules, I'm looking to shake up the world a little - without sounding incredibly cheesy.

16 thoughts on “Wake-up Call – Literally!

  1. Sounds like how I get up everyday. Only change my alarm to read 4 a.m.

  2. Heh, reminds me of when my eldest was 5, we taped a video of her one morning, camera trained on her bed. We called her, no response. Again, nothing. A third time, blankets flew backward, daughter sprang up to seating, declared ‘get a life!’ and sank back under the covers.

  3. I wake up at 5 AM, no matter what time I go to bed. My body is like an alarm clock. ( I don’t have an alarm clock )

    Cheers !

  4. At least none of the demons were there to see your flop!

  5. That must have hurt for a minute there. The pic made me chortle.

    These days, as in my case, my biological clock and my phone alarm clock seem to be grating on each other’s nerves.

  6. I have to leave my house by 6:45 a.m. during the week. I set my alarm for 5:45 to accommodate whacking the snooze until 6:05. I have terrible math skills, except when I am trying to calculate exactly how many more minutes I can sleep.

    • Calculating hours left happens to me when I am watching a movie late at night. 8 hours left, I’m not 9 you know. 7, nah, too lucky for my taste. 6, The movie’s just about ended. 5, thousands of people are homeless, let me feel their pain. 4, is that…..SCRAM!!! mom just woke up upstairs!

Reply. It won't hurt, I promise.

