Diary Without Pages

Trivia I find Ignored

Spectacled

20 Comments

Have you ever found yourself in need of a pair of glasses? A friendly advice from a colleague with a hint of sarcasm? Or a sincere request from a family member who finds your queries about the faulty computer screen, more than just annoying?

I find myself faced with a problem, that is, to be sure, nothing of the sort.

Its funny how the train of thought moves. I was watching my sister wash her new dress, which she hadn’t even worn once. Apparently, a stray cat had found it quite appropriate to take a quick nap in the pile of fabric, and the cat must have a lavish meal beforehand; the Β enormous pile of shit suggested just that! Why she left them out on the terrace in the first place? I cannot fathom. So anyway, watching her clean, I started thinking of clean clothes which led to clean people to feet (No, I don’t have a foot fetish) to washing feet – washing hands – washing face – eating – eating a lot – obese people – problems with obesity – people I know that are unnaturally fat – people I know who are unbelievably thin – decent people – what makes them decent looking – and in the end it all came down to

Glasses!

I recalled all the people I knew who I regarded as dignified, and everyone, well, not everyone, but most of them wore glasses. I figured glasses must have a

These are the ones I imagined myself with!

positive effect on how you look. I imagined myself with a pair and voila! I saw the elite version of myself. My face features reminded me of…well, nobody, I couldn’t think of someone with this much grandeur (lol! Just kidding). I toyed with the idea for quite a while to buy myself a pair, with a numberless lens, but at length, I decided I was being too narcissistic.

I amused myself, afterwards, as I lay in bed, with the imagination of the people I knew with glasses, and those who wore glasses were stripped of the privilege. The females (most of them) attained a secretary look, and the men, the good-looking ones, started looking more and more like Harry Potter. The remaining? Nerds!

Author: Hamza

A college student of 18. With sarcasm as my voice and a proud disregard for rules, I'm looking to shake up the world a little - without sounding incredibly cheesy.

20 thoughts on “Spectacled

  1. I wear glasses. And much as I would like to attain a secretary look (read: sexy), I always fail. People around me says, “You know what Addie, guys don’t pursue because it’s clear how unapproachable and unwilling you are. Take those glasses off!”

    But I don’t.

  2. For me, GLASSES = SMART πŸ˜€

  3. I wear glasses too, but I usually wear then when I’m reading or using the computer, or when eyes hurt.And I’ve been wearing glasses for about 15 years now or more. I hope I don’t look like a nerd. LOL I keep changing glasses but I once had a pair with a thick black frame that made me look like a nerd I guess. LOL…Now what I’m wearing is a white and silver frame that one of my male best friends picked for me. He said, no more nerdy look, it’s time for the to go back to that smart-looking woman. LOL.

    Btw, I like the new layout and the header of your blog. so cute. πŸ™‚

  4. I used to wear ‘gradeless’ glasses for eye protection. my eyes are too sensitive- can’t handle direct polluted air. haha! but now, no more. and yes… i was not able to achieve the secretary-look you’re saying. HAHA! Happy new year!

  5. I’m going to see my eye doctor sometime next week. My mother was a bit unhappy . She told me to wear contacts instead. She said, ” gee, Ren, how sad that you’re about to wear prescription glasses.You have a beautiful pair of eyes. Your eyes are the mirror of your soul . So darn it, wear contacts ! ” LOL

    • Haven’t you grown tired of the same look yet? Change it, and in my opinion glasses are the way to do it, be it prescription or not, you get to choose the frame right?

  6. i wear glasses … that makes me secretary type eh? πŸ˜€

    10 years of contact lense and 8 years of spectacles.
    Those who have good eye sight be thankful for it. For this really is a nuisance πŸ˜€

  7. I was an managing optician for 15 years. Optics are an amazing thing–bending light BEFORE it hits the cornea in exactly the opposite direction than the focusing mechanisms in the eye, compensating for the displacement so that the light hits the retina correctly.
    The job still eventually drove me nuts (which explains my blog) and I switched professions.
    Good post!

Reply. It won't hurt, I promise.

