Diary Without Pages

Trivia I find Ignored

Guest Thief

18 Comments

Sometimes, when you least expect it, you are left alone. Alone! not a soul in sight. Then, and only then, you can do those things, that are considered socially unacceptable.

Before I tell you all my story, I have one request. Don’t Judge.

I was visiting the house of a friend. This guy had badgered me constantly for the past week or so that I must pay his place a visit.

“Why?”, I asked.

“Its fun to have someone over.”

I didn’t see the harm in a quick visit. His place was nearby anyway. So, one day after college I arrived at his doorstep. Rung the bell. Waited. Door opened. And the customary visit-to-a-friend scenario followed. Just when I was starting to enjoy myself, he went out of the room to get a cup of something, coffee, if I remember correctly. So he went out and left me in the room with his pet turtle, a fish, a rooster and a partridge (Yeah, I know, a number of pets!).

I waited. And waited. Followed by a lot of waiting. Some more waiting was by then, expected. I tried everything I could think of, from admiring paintings to counting sheep. He just did not show up! I sat there for the better part of an hour.

It took all my effort, awkward as it was, to raise my voice to the level that it could be heard in all of the building. Apparently, nobody was in earshot.

Eerie!

All those horror movies came rushing into my mind. The ones they recommend you to watch at night, and when you do! Well, its not pretty. Hence the word horror.

The possibilities!” I thought.

I decided, that by now it wouldn’t be counted as bad manners to snoop around his house. It was like any other suburban household, nothing in particular piqued my interest along the hallways. Like the close family friend that I was, I found a lavish meal for myself, and by lavish I mean half a dozen sandwiches, that lay in the fridge, as if, made for me. Who rejects a mouthwatering pile of sandwiches in times of starvation. I was starved, by the way. This act of stealing, in my opinion was completely justified, it was necessary for my survival in the strangeness that is, a friend’s place. Afterwards, my eyes rested on a coffeemaker. Go figure.

With the kitchen exploration wrapped up and with appetite sated and mouth still hot with coffee. Taking mind notes to make more awkward visits to friends.

” This is like an adventure!”  I thought to myself.

I felt like Indiana Jones, unraveling the mysteries of a rundown mansion. I moved on to the other rooms. Feeling like a thief about to get caught, I tiptoed across the living room groping for the ON switch. I found it with little effort. I turned on the heater (Its December you know!), warmed my hands in front of the fire. Jerky movement with my head whenever I felt  the slightest inclination of someone approaching.

After the warm up, I ventured into the bedroom. Here, unluckily, it took forever to find the ON switch. I jumped onto the king size bed. Laying there, I heard a sound of metal scraping metal, kinda like a sword being sheathed. Like a ninja’s blade.

I Bolted.

Didn’t look back, not a muscle in my neck dared move sideways. Why did I run? Impulse, I guess. Because now, I can’t think of a reason to have ran away. Would they have skinned me if they had found me taking a look at their private rooms? Unlikely.

The next day, at college, with a racing heart I greeted that friend. He was…well, like he always is! normal. No accusatory eyes, no anger, no animosity whatsoever. I was relieved. Seemingly nobody had noticed nor minded the empty plate of sandwiches, or the blazing heater in the living room, or the blanket of the bed crumpled.

How? Its beyond me.

He apologized for leaving me be. Apparently someone in his family had fallen seriously ill, and in all the commotion, lil’ ol’ me was completely forgotten.

Thanking God for this turn of fate in my favor, I spent the rest of the day thinking of all the ways this little escapade of mine could have gone wrong. The consequences wouldn’t have been very severe but still, I got away. Besides the fact that the house owner himself let me in, I feel like I make an amazing thief!

Author: Hamza

A college student of 18. With sarcasm as my voice and a proud disregard for rules, I'm looking to shake up the world a little - without sounding incredibly cheesy.

18 thoughts on “Guest Thief

  1. I love this. lol I can picture you tippy toeing around. giggles. ty for the laugh.

  2. No judgements here.

    BUT

    …who knows, maybe, just maybe, it was a test – kind of like one of those ‘True Beauty’ tests (or Punk’d) to see who would behave well and who wouldn’t when left in such a situation.

    God sure was watching.

    This was a very nice read. I love the suspenseful effect.

    • I seriously doubt it was anything like a test, he’s too sweet of a guy to have done something like that to me. I admit, I have a guilty conscience right now. But I didn’t do any REAL damage now, did I? That is the thing that lets me sleep at night.(Though the matter is hardly that serious 😉 )

  3. Hi Hamza,
    Coo story. I like to snoop around and explore houses myself. Not in a judgmental way but more in a “curious” way.

    take care…

  4. What a weird situation to find yourself in. I would have ventured around the house looking for my friend. I don’t think eating sandwiches in the fridge to a home you’ve been invited into counts as theivery. I’m imagining more like Goldilocks investigating the food and home of the Three Bears.

  5. I agree with Paprika! Definitely a Goldilocks situation 😉

  6. I like this post Hamza! But being left by a friend in their own house alone without a word was very awkward. I was thinking he could have called you or send a text message…. oh well. anyway, nice post.

  7. Hope you liked the sandwiches!

  8. I guess I would have done the exact same thing as you did 😆

  9. not too bad considering you were left alone for about an hour with no explanation.
    I am wondering what the noice you heard in the bedroom was :lol” I guess, our minds have a way of making things up in situation like that 🙂

Reply. It won't hurt, I promise.

