Diary Without Pages

Trivia I find Ignored

Protest – You’re Doing it Wrong!

2 Comments

Yesterday, on the way back to home from college, I saw a crowd at the roadside. All too familiar faces came into view as I got closer. My ex-schoolmates. Not in twos or threes but in hundreds! Seeing a horde of long forgotten friends should have been a sight for the books, but that is not the case when they are in the form of an angry mob.

“What in the world is going on?” I wondered on the way home.

I finally understood the downside of not watching news. A little interrogation from some acquaintances told me that apparently, the annual results of the local board were rechecked and things were not looking good for anyone in 2nd year. Hence a protest ensued.

This protest was not a normal one, everybody between 16 and 18 from the whole city was supposedly there. The headcount reached to about 5-6 thousand. That! – is a LOT of people.

The original plan was to protest in front of the Board office. When they reached the office, they, for some reason, thought that the number of people were too less to make an impact. They went out of there way to some other colleges, including mine, to gather some more people for their showdown.

The management at my college was not happy with letting the students go to join the horde. Might is Right came into play at that time.

What are 20 grown men against 50,000 younger ones?

Action of one person in such situations is manifold more effective. A boy threw a rock at a window, breaking it. What did the others do? As a result of what they did No window is to be seen in my college today. And in December too. Couldn’t they do it in June? At least I wouldn’t find myself unable to bend a finger without stuffing it in the fork of the legs every few minutes.

The faculty at my college are stubborn as hell! but even they couldn’t stand their own against this. So they let the college students go, advising them to go straight home. (Yeah! like anyone did that. Dumb-asses!)

The sheer number of students involved is astonishing. And they were in their uniforms to boot! Ah! That must have been a sight to see. A sea of blue on a grey road.

So after the snatch-and-run the mob turned back and reached the board office just in time for lunch. At first, the protest was like any other, a bunch of people holding a bunch of boards, yelling slogans. But that must not have been enough for the raging teen hormones, because after about 15 minutes, things started to get violent. Burning tires was not satisfactory enough, so they moved on to the board building instead.

Once the madness started; it did not end soon. From the looks of it there were many talented arsonists in the crowd.

After a while, police came. I hear a lot of teargas and firing was involved, 15 guys got arrested but were released after 3 hours or so. Somebody told me that the police was standing by the roadside for two hours before they started arresting. “Enjoying!” he said. You know what the sad part is, I believe him.

The funny part about it all was that some boys among the crowd before damaging property stole laptops and RAMs and other computer related stuff. I mean, how much more desperate can you get? Seriously?

A friend told me that most probably they burnt down their own answer sheets in the fire. Is that good or is that bad? I really can’t tell.

Author: Hamza

A college student of 18. With sarcasm as my voice and a proud disregard for rules, I'm looking to shake up the world a little - without sounding incredibly cheesy.

2 thoughts on “Protest – You’re Doing it Wrong!

  1. Sorry to hear about what happened. But things happen. I hope nothing like that will happen again. And if ever it inevitably does, that they do so in nonviolent demonstrations.

Reply. It won't hurt, I promise.

