Diary Without Pages

Trivia I find Ignored

Yesterday n’ Today

8 Comments

Yesterday

Yesterday, I sat on my chair, and stared. I stared at my monitor. I noticed it’s size and tried to calculate in my mind how much it would weigh. And how much sound would it make if I dropped it from 7 feet above the ground. Just imagine how bored I would’ve to be to be looking at a computer screen trying to calculate pixels!

I hoped of being hit with an idea, that would change my mood. I might as well have been looking for eagles in caves. I failed. And horribly so. I had nothing to do. Literally! Nothing. Sometimes, you say that you have nothing to do, but actually you can always go to the kitchen to get a bite, go out, stare at the moth that’s been bugging you all day, make weird noises, you can even dig out a book from a bookshelf and reread it. I would hardly call it nothing. My problem was something else entirely.

I’m not saying I was out on the street, homeless. It’s not nearly as dramatic as that. Though I wish it had been.

I was not feeling like doing anything; not even bating eyes, I figured there is nothing unhealthy about not burning calories. Right?

I was alone at home. Normally, that would have been like a dream come true. But yesterday? I’d even have liked to be mugged, that’d make life interesting wouldn’t it?

Did you ever have one of those moments when you just feel like crying? Well, this was not like that.

I finally decided to surf the net. It makes me feel like I am at the sea (Surf=sea). It was an improvement. I came across Addie, then Bella‘s blog. It made me smile, to see both of them had written new posts at the same day. It changed my mood, but only in the slightest manner possible.

After that, finally, something good happened. It was the most interesting event of my whole day.

I fell Asleep.

I woke up after, let me count 1..2..3.., yes! After 13 hours. And I was still sleepy. Imagine that.

Today

Today, I couldn’t bring myself to sit still, such was the electricity I feel in my veins. I am hyper; too hyper. I just can’t stop fidgeting. With the strong urge to go to the bathroom ignored, I’m feeling pretty psyched.

Looking back, I can’t believe how depressing the yesterday part is! Oh well, its written now, and I’m not in the habit of too much editing. Seems less and less genuine with every word I change.

Note: After rereading this, I changed 53 words. So this post is 53 words less genuine.

Author: Hamza

A college student of 18. With sarcasm as my voice and a proud disregard for rules, I'm looking to shake up the world a little - without sounding incredibly cheesy.

8 thoughts on “Yesterday n’ Today

  1. Ugh, boredom sucks. But it’s being in that state when peculiar things just come looming up in your head which can also make a good writing prompt.

    13 hours of sleep? Man, I’d kill just to be able to sleep that long. Hope you’re feeling a lot better.

    • I must admit I have a gift. When I wake up after the normal 6-8 hours, I can go back to sleep in two minutes if I try hard enough. 13 hours is nothing actually, I have slept for 18 hours straight, in normal conditions.

  2. It happens to me when i get a writer’s block 😀 😉

    Everybody feels this way 🙂

  3. If you don’t mind can I tell you that it is hard to read with the background image.

    Anyway, back to what I wanted to write.Boredom is normal . it happens to everyone and I normally watch tv and surf net 🙂

    • Why on earth would I mind? God knows I’m delighted to know someone actually gives a damn about me! I’ll change it the first chance I get 😀 Been planning to anyway.
      I think I discovered a whole new level of boredom that day. Boredom is normal, I know, but this much has to be something more.

  4. See that? You managed to turn mindless boredom into a post.
    Keep going.

Reply. It won't hurt, I promise.

