Diary Without Pages

Trivia I find Ignored

Things Happen

4 Comments

The other day, a friend of mine told me that a classmate, a guy with a pleasant smile and a new hairstyle every week, had been in an accident. This didn’t intrigue me one bit, accidents, for me are everyday news, and I’m talking about those tiny ones that don’t even leave a scratch. I’ve been in two or three of those myself. I’ve to say they make a very good story to tell.

What came next was what captivated my attention.

My friend said,”…and he died.”

I was shocked to say the least.

“Say WHAT!”

A white-faced boy explained to me all the horrifying details that lead to the freak accident. The one that was dead was not my mate but a neighbor of his, who was riding the bike with my friend, on the back seat.

Truck vs Bike, the rest should be obvious. I’d much rather not go into the details of the event.

The next day everything seemed normal, nobody had the least bit of concern for anything that had happened. To me it looked like everyone was a part of a play titled “Life Goes On”.

I came to admire the ability of a person to forget, it is a blessing few are thankful for. Just imagine, you forget Nothing! everything you’ve been through. Just the thought makes me cringe.

This has affected my mood far longer than I expected. I find myself continuously thinking about ‘how uncertain life is’. I found the words shallow before but now, I think I understand the narrator’s message. Life is fugacious.

To die lying on the bed, seems peaceful, almost meant-to-be. But like this? Surreal.

Hopefully I’ll get out of this sad phase in a day or two. A good nights sleep may do me good. I hope.

Author: Hamza

A college student of 18. With sarcasm as my voice and a proud disregard for rules, I'm looking to shake up the world a little - without sounding incredibly cheesy.

4 thoughts on “Things Happen

  1. What sad news. My heart goes out to you, your friend and your friend’s family.

  2. I’m so sorry to hear about your friend. What a terrible tragedy!

Reply. It won't hurt, I promise.

