Diary Without Pages

Trivia I find Ignored

Followers

15 Comments

I, am a state-the-obvious kinda guy, or so I’ve been told. So, I’m gonna go ahead and do what I’m good at and tell you all, what you already know.

Needless to say…but I’m gonna say it anyway, whether it is needed or not!

Everyone has their favorite color, it’s practically the first informal question asked from anyone by anyone. My favorite has always been black, don’t know why, it just always has been. Second in line is green. Why? Because its easy on the eyes. Recently, I’ve had what you call a change of taste.

Never before was the color “orange” so enchanting, so intoxicating, so welcome, so…Awaited!

The Reason?

This!

Everybody on WordPress knows this holy symbol. Whoever said a color cannot be unconditionally loved has been proved wrong right here and now! Though I highly doubt anyone actually said that, but for the sake of conversation lets suppose someone did.

So, anyway, back to the topic at hand, indeed, my happiness, is directly proportional to the value of the white number above. Greater the number, greater is the happiness obtained.

Whenever I get followed, and that is not often, I get this lump in my throat, of gratitude, gratefulness, honor and whatnot. My fist clenches, breathing gets heavier (Don’t be fooled, exaggeration!), but most of all this feeling of butterflies in my stomach is the most persistent. It doesn’t go away all day long and I am constantly reminded of the orange sign. Most peculiar thing, though is that when I say the word “follower” out loud, I feel like Hitler. Without the leadership skills of course and This is the expression on my face!

What are followers to you?

Author: Hamza

A college student of 18. With sarcasm as my voice and a proud disregard for rules, I'm looking to shake up the world a little - without sounding incredibly cheesy.

15 thoughts on “Followers

  1. Hahaha! I look at visitors to my blog as kindred spirits popping for a cup of coffee! They always brighten my day 🙂

  2. I like this posts. 🙂 And I just followed you a few minutes ago, so I’d like to think that I’m one of those who made you happy today. 🙂

  3. Followers and even non-followers who like my posts or drop in give me the exact same pleasure I get from eating cotton candies. 😀

  4. I have never eaten a cotton candy, they must be tasty to be compared to this kinda delight. And thanks again for awarding me *blush*.

  5. there. another blog follower (me!). glad to be one of the ‘numbers’ that make you happy! thanks too for following my blog 🙂

  6. You are so right about seeing that little orange box with the number in it. My heart rate quickens when I see it. I’m curious to know who the new follower is and how they found my blog. I get the same feeling from a “like”. It’s nice to know that your writing is being read, not just hovering in cyberspace. Thanks for becoming one of my followers 🙂

  7. I know what you mean. Well hopefully this makes you happy. I want to present you with the versatile blogger award, to understand this better follow this link http://madnessinmasquerade.wordpress.com/2011/12/02/versatile-blogger-award/

    • It does! actually. Thank You!!! Now I’ve got two of the same award. (I don’t know if against the rules to have two of the same award but anyone who does please don’t tell :D)

  8. I love this, and agree completely. A follower means “yay, I am good at this!” and “Really? Don’t they know there are better blogs to read?” and “I wonder if I will ever get a really big number of followers?” and “I wonder what they are writing about?”

Reply. It won't hurt, I promise.

