Diary Without Pages

Trivia I find Ignored

Shadow Mirrors

11 Comments

I notice  things, that’s my thing. One of those things is the shadow, the same shadow that follows you around everywhere! I can’t say for folks in general but for me whenever I walk, jog, trot or whichever version of footwork you can think of, and the sun is on my back, I often stop and stare at my shadow.

Why?

Because it’s so very handsome like me?

No! I stare at it because I want to see how my hair, ah my beautiful hair looks like in my shadow, and if it is not to my satisfaction, well then, with both my hands I shape my hair so that my shadow looks better, more manly if you please, Yes! I’m obsessed with my hair, I know it’s vain but what can I do its who I am. Even if it means that it actually makes me look disheveled, I still do it.

Why?

Because it gives me a sense of self-confidence; that just isn’t explainable! And besides, who cares what others think, its what you think of yourself that matters. right? Because that’s what I have heard.

Since we are on the topic of shadows, I am reminded of an incident, In buildings nowadays you often see those tinted windows that are like mirrors on one side, and you can see outside from the inner side. The other day I saw a man standing in front of one those windows combing his hair with his hands, his mouth half open, moving his head from one side to the other to make himself look perfect from every angle, just as he was about to start nose-picking I thought he had had enough embarrassment for the day, even if he didn’t know it,  grinning, I told him that he could be seen from the inside. And the whole family is probably on the other side of the window enjoying the show. The expression on his face was one for the books! I could just make out a distant giggle from the house and I suppose he did too. Before the last word left my lips the guy bolted!

I am still in search of that guy, I mean how naive can you get! Seriously!

Share with me any shadowy incident you can recall.

Author: Hamza

A college student of 18. With sarcasm as my voice and a proud disregard for rules, I'm looking to shake up the world a little - without sounding incredibly cheesy.

11 thoughts on “Shadow Mirrors

  1. LOL! I always check my hair in the shadows too 😉

  2. This is going to be an embarrassing confession. Don’t judge. When I was younger, me and my brother were at a church wedding. We were seated near the window where the sunlight was coming in and thus creating our shadows. As the priest was already going to tell the groom to kiss his bride, my brother told me to look at our shadows and so I did. When the groom finally leaned to kiss the bride, my brother also tilted his head to my direction so that his shadow would seem like it’s leaning to kiss my shadow. So there we had our shadows kissing. Yuck. But that amazed me then. Haha. Even up to now, whenever there’s a chance – like when I’m standing under the sun with just about anyone and our shadows are close to each other, I shadow kiss them. Of course, they only see me leaning in for no reason. That makes me chuckle.

  3. I don’t really correct myself in my shadow, but I shadows in general are fascinating to me. Like when a group of people are walking with the sun to one side and their shadows stretch out indefinitely to the opposite? Love it. There is a shadowy shape distortion, a kind of hint at infinity, that is just so cool to me! 🙂

  4. Shadows, so shadowy!

    Nice glass!

Reply. It won't hurt, I promise.

