Diary Without Pages

Trivia I find Ignored

Survived

32 Comments

Trifecta challenge.

Survived

You had me then
You have me now
The last embrace
Your solemn vow

You move away
Into the fray
Let go, you say
I have a choice?

We meet again
I am alive
I tell my life
I have survived

____

As it happens, the word “poem” has been ringing in my head for the last 12 hours. After having watched this, you’ll know what I’m talking about.

Author: Hamza

A college student of 18. With sarcasm as my voice and a proud disregard for rules, I'm looking to shake up the world a little - without sounding incredibly cheesy.

32 thoughts on “Survived

  1. You held on, you didn’t have a choice. Well done.
    Came from Trifextra.

  2. This is really good! It tells a story in so few words. I like that it rhymes too.

  3. i wish i had this to read a month ago, i can relate to it. i certainly hope the last stanza shall hold true for me as well.
    good piece!

  4. That video was crazy awesome. I haven’t seen that movie. But I guess I’ve now seen the ending. :)

  5. The subject matter of the poem is beautiful in light of the video—he having to let go of her and she inspiring him to fight unto death.

  6. I believe when something haunts you long enough you need to put pen to paper.

  7. Oh good for the heroine in this poem. He comes back, she’s no longer there. His loss. (Of course, it could be a hero. :-)

    ~Imelda

  8. Zowie! What movie is that? I’d never heard of it. That was astounding. And I loved your poem that projected either the moment of the confrontation or the one after it.

    • OK, I heard about The Grey when it came out. Now, I have to see it. Wow. I found the after-credits-scene (I love youtube, and I honestly do better watching the whole film if I know the ending first. I’m one of THOSE people). Wow. Your poem captures it perfectly.

  9. Thank you so much for linking up to Trifextra this weekend. The challenge this weekend will be judged by the community. So please come back to the Trifecta home page and click the stars next to the three posts you most enjoyed. You only have until Monday at 8 am EST, so hurry!

  10. Many congratulations. Your take sure is powerful.

  11. Go, you! Congratulations.

Reply. It won't hurt, I promise.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers